It is time


After a lot of thought and discussion with my family, I have decided that it is time for me to step down as Scoutmaster of Troop 169. I’ll do my best to explain why and where I’m at.

Truthfully, I’m just burnt out. I’m out of gas. I’m not giving the program the attention it deserves, and that’s just not fair to the Scouts. I’ve been hanging on longer than I realized, hoping that the new infusion of Webelos into the Troop would give me the shot I need. It worked for a few months, but now things are right back where they were.

I’ve gotten a few more helpers in the form of Committee members recently, but that’s about it. My ‘usual suspect’ of an ASM has all but disappeared due to her sons lack of participation. No one has filled that hole, and I’ve been left trying to do more than ever.

I also think its just time for some new leadership. I think we are stuck in a rut, and with me leading the charge that’s not likely to change. This might even get the Scouts more excited, who knows. Or, it might spell the end. I sure hope not but you never know.

I’m not quitting Scouting, however. I think I’ll take the fall off and look to see what I can do at the District/Council level. I also need to help find the replacement SM, as the Committee didn’t feel a need to do it months ago when I gave them their first heads up.

I really questioned if I was doing the right thing, but when I wrote my resignation email and sent it off I didn’t have any regrets. Told me right there that I was truly ready to do this. 8 years starting and running a Troop all year long has taken a toll on me. I simply need a change.

What will become of this blog? I don’t know yet. I’ll probably change my Twitter handle to something appropriate, that’s all I have so far.  Right now, I’m just feeling a little more free.

About Mayor Kyle P. Riel

Dad, Husband, Firefighter, Mayor, Blogger, Drummer, yadda, yadda, yadda. View all posts by Mayor Kyle P. Riel

4 responses to “It is time

  • Steve Borgerding

    I know how you feel. I retired at the end of last year. Short on help and just burned out. Good luck on your future scouting plans.

  • steve kopezna

    Just her for some advice. I could use some ideas for Troop meetings.Need to keep the boys excited about Scouting. Thanks Steve Kopezna Scoutmaster Troop 438 Bohemia N.y.

  • Jeff

    Hello, There are two types of Scoutmasters… those that hold the title and those that set the example. When a man is the latter, stepping down can be very hard, even in some of the worst situations. YIS, Jeff

  • SMMinute

    I haven’t done a Scoutmaster’s Minute on knowing when to stop doing something. I too have experience stepping down from positions and I think you have provided a bit of inspiration. Scoutmaster Kelly

Leave a comment