Day 100 – Limping Across the Finish Line


100 days ago, I thought it might be ‘neat’ if I tried my hand at writing a Scouting blog.  It just so happened that the 100 Days of Scouting was kicking off for its second year and I found it a great excuse to get it going.

Here we are – and what a long, strange and eventful journey it’s been.  My last post was kinda my wrap up post – so I won’t do it again – but I do have something I’d like to get off my chest.

I think my wife summed up my irritation pretty well:  “I find it amusing and exhausting when people complain and rant about rules and policies in BSA or other youth organizations. Bottom line: if you don’t like it, then volunteer for a different organization. Pretty doubtful that a nationally based group is going to change their ways because you think you’re superior to their rules.”  Thank you dear, you have a way with words sometimes when I’m so frustrated all I can do is sigh.

Today, I also had to deal with a set of parents who tried to get their Scout signed up and paid for this weekends activities.  Sign up for it was due over a month ago so we could plan transportation and such.  What kind of lesson would we be teaching both the Scout and his parents if we let them slide on it?  Not to mention, we already have the tour plan filled out and ready to go.  Yea, I also struggle with excluding a Scout because his parents don’t know how to keep things straight.  But I even reminded 2 weeks ago thinking if they somehow forgot about it, they could take care of it then and it would have been ok.  It’s not fun to play the bad guy, but sometimes you just gotta in order to keep everyone from taking advantage of you.

Well, I kinda just went off for my Day 100.  Sorry.  Wait, no I’m not.  I’ll bet you there’s someone else out there who’s dealing with the same stuff, or worse – and maybe they’ll read this and feel just a wee bit better because they realize that they’re not alone.  That’s one of the lessons I’ve gotten out of this 100 Day of Scouting deal.  I’m not alone in how I feel, or the issues that I have to deal with day in and day out.  So, our Troop is at least sort of ‘normal’.

My last hashtag with #100DaysofScouting for the year…..*sniff*

YIS

K.

About Mayor Kyle P. Riel

Dad, Husband, Firefighter, Mayor, Blogger, Drummer, yadda, yadda, yadda. View all posts by Mayor Kyle P. Riel

3 responses to “Day 100 – Limping Across the Finish Line

  • Phil

    Kyle, I feel your pain. I hate to see people complain about everything, but either unwilling to fix it or understand it for what it is and move on. At the end of the day we’re all here for 1 reason, to turn boys into men. I work with the rules that are in place and teach my Scouts to do the same. I’m glad to see you doing the same.

    Thanks for your words and thoughts on Scouting over the last 100 days. A job well done. You have the right attitude towards Scouting and how you fit into it, so don’t loose sight of that. Continue to share with others as you have for 100 days. It’s been great getting to know you and I hope we have more to share going forward.

    YIS

    Phil

    • MNScoutmaster

      Thanks for the kind words Phil. I plan on sticking with it and blogging as much as I’m able. With summer comes my busy season of camping, and baseball so I won’t have as much face time with my laptop as usual but I will ‘do my best’. I do have a few topics already in the hopper ready for me to expand on, and I know I’ll have more questions and issues that I’ll bring up as I continue to work on making our unit a truly boy led Troop. Thanks again and I know we’ll be in touch.
      Kyle.

  • Scoutsigns

    It has been a pleasure to find and enjoy your blog for these 100 Days. It is in my Google Reader so I get notified whenever you post more to read.

    08 FEB 2012: Put it on your calendar!

    Thanks for playing.

Leave a Reply

