Day 93 – good times


Day 93 already?!?  Seems like only yesterday I was just catching wind on Twitter about the #100DaysofScouting movement and deciding that maybe I’d like to try my hat at it.  As we near the end of this interesting and fun journey this year, I have a couple of things I’d like to point out.

First of all, I’m humbled by the sheer number of people who come to this blog and read what I have to say.  I never imagined my words would spark such conversations across the country, and even in my Council and District.  This is all just me, just my opinions and observations as I try to help make the best Troop, District and Council I can.  I can’t believe just how much Scouting shaped who I am today, and I can only hope that I am able to return the favor.

Secondly, I have made several new Scouting friends via Twitter and podcasts.  I’ll mention a few here by name, as their podcasts and blogs have brought me new ideas and taught me that I need to really let the Scouts lead the Troop versus me being the heavy handed Scoutmaster that I didn’t realize I was kind of being.  Scoutmaster Jerry and Clarke Green have awesome podcasts – and if you’re an adult leader of a Troop I would strongly recommend you subscribe to both of these podcasts and start listening.  SMPhil has helped me along my Roundtable Commissioner route and I would like to thank him yet again.  I think things are going to be different around here come next fall when Roundtables start up again.  There are lots of others, you know who you are – and I will continue to interact with you even when the 100 days are done and over.  You all have been entertaining and a very valuable asset to me this year so far.

Now that I’ve said that – on to what I’ve been up to (only 8 more days of updates like this!):

Monday we held a PLC.  Second one where I’ve let the SPL run the show, and it went much better than the first.  I think they’re starting to realize that it’s their Troop, their program, and they have the final say in what they do.  Of course, I’m there along with others to ensure they follow the BSA guidelines and maybe to nudge ’em once in a while – but for the most part, they’re starting to talk to each other and not to me about what they need to do and want to do.  It’s really neat to see this happening for me , as I’ve always headed up the PLC meetings in the past.

Tuesday and today I had Scouting lunch meetings with different Scouters.  Yesterday I listened as an old friend of mine kinda ‘vented’ about the Troop his son just crossed over into, and was asking me several very good questions about how Troops ‘should’ operate and things of that nature.  I answered his questions, and offered what advice I could.  It will be interesting to see if he’s able to make some positive change in that Troop.

Today I met with our District Executive and talked about the future of Roundtables.  I think there’s some great ideas out there (that if they are implemented and work, I will share).  I was also asked to attend this weekend’s Spring Camporee even though our Troop isn’t going because the votes are in and the District name I submitted was selected.  In a way, I kind of left a legacy there – the new name of our new District was mine.  Cool, huh?  I’m planning on attending the campfire on Saturday now, and am very excited about the whole thing!

I hope you all have had a great Scouting day/week/month/100 days!  Keep on Scouting!

YIS

K.

About Mayor Kyle P. Riel

Dad, Husband, Firefighter, Mayor, Blogger, Drummer, yadda, yadda, yadda. View all posts by Mayor Kyle P. Riel

Leave a Reply

