Day 66 – Well, that was unexpected.


So tonight was our Roundtable.  Sort of.  Only 3 people showed up.  Our DE, the presenter and an Associate District Commissioner.  Yea.  That was a let down.  I won’t take it too personally, however.  I understand that life sometimes gets crazy, and with the cost of gas going up constantly these days, getting people to attend Roundtables is going to be increasingly difficult.

One thing I’m thinking of doing is trying some type of online collaboration.  Not sure if it’ll be a web conference where we can be interactive with online viewers, or if it’ll be more of a recorded Roundtable and then put it up on a site.  I’ve been asking our DE’s and even Scout Executive what they currently have for web conferencing software – and if it would work for Roundtables.  I seem to be getting a positive response so far, but I’m still in the ‘feelers’ stage of this.

I recently put out a survey for Roundtables – and it seems the best way that people want to get information is “Online newsletters with links where I can find additional information, and connect with subject matter experts”, followed closely by “Quarterly, in person Roundtable meetings”.  So I’m thinking a mix of meetings and technology need to come together.  Just not sure yet how.

Well, that’s all I’ve got to say about tonight.  The DE, presenter and I sat around for darn near the whole hour talking Scouting though, so it was still a productive evening – just not the way I thought it would be.

About Mayor Kyle P. Riel

Dad, Husband, Firefighter, Mayor, Blogger, Drummer, yadda, yadda, yadda. View all posts by Mayor Kyle P. Riel

One response to “Day 66 – Well, that was unexpected.

  • Eric

    I facilitate training classes via web conference for work. If you’re having trouble getting folks to come out, I think that could be a very viable option. There are plenty of ways to keep the participants engaged, and even make use of breakout rooms. Feel free to email me if you have any questions or want to talk.

Leave a Reply

