Day 56 – I’m jealous


Springtime in Northern Minnesota is tough.  I don’t know how it is elsewhere, but for us here in the great Northwoods we’re in spring fever mode big time right now.  Even my dogs are starting to go nuts.  The weather is starting to warm up – a little.  We’re losing snow fast now, but the ground is still frozen, so we’ve got muddy puddles everywhere.  Spring is coming, but it’s not here yet.  I want it to be here.  I’m ready for winter to be over as it was a pretty rough season this winter.  Trouble is mother nature just isn’t ready to let winter go.  I wanna get the ‘outing’ in Scouting – I want to be able to go camping, or at least take a hike outside without sinking up to my knees in mud or ice cold water.  Yea, I’m kinda whining.  Sorry.

Reading all of the other Scouters who blog and are on Twitter talk about campouts isn’t helping.  I really wanna get out there, but it’s just not time yet.  Reading about your adventures does help in some ways, I suppose, as I get to live vicariously through your stories until I get to create my own again this summer.  I have big plans – and I think most of them can happen!

Tonight we had our first Troop meeting with our new leadership in place.  Our SPL did a great job for his first meeting, and I’m looking forward to seeing how all the leadership evolves over the next 6 months.  I have a good feeling about all of them, and think our Troop will be in a much better place in 6 months.  Troop Leadership Training is Saturday, and it’ll lay the groundwork for all the good things to come.  I know it won’t be smooth sailing all the time, but if we can make the bumpy parts learning experiences, then it’s all good.

Tonight we also held OA elections, had patrol meetings (where the younger guys patrol decided what advancement they wanted to work on – a big step for them!), and played some team building games for fun.  I have a really good feeling going forward, and I need to make sure that I thank my ASM’s that are helping make that happen.  Thanks Dave and Trish, you both are helping big time, and I want you both to know I appreciate it.  And Trish, you’re my favorite Scouter (yea, I’m biased, but that’s ok….we’re married!)

About Mayor Kyle P. Riel

Dad, Husband, Firefighter, Mayor, Blogger, Drummer, yadda, yadda, yadda. View all posts by Mayor Kyle P. Riel

One response to “Day 56 – I’m jealous

Leave a Reply

