Day 49 – there is no pleasing some people


I don’t think I’d be too far off if I assumed that most units have at least one parent that you just can’t seem to make happy.  Either they never like what is being done, or they always seem to have a suggestion on how to ‘fix’ things…even if they’re not broken.  Granted, some are worse than others – but they seem to always be there.

In my 6 or so years of being Scoutmaster, I’ve had parents go straight to the Council about things, try and have our CC step down, and just about had our Chartered Org. drop us among other things.  I’ve realized that there are some people who you just can’t make happy, no matter what is done or who is in charge.  The question is, how do you deal with them?

For me, I’ve found that I need to stop – breathe – and remind myself why I’m doing this whole Scoutmaster thing in the first place – the boys.  I used to take it all very personally – until I realized that there will always be someone in the group that either isn’t happy with how we’re doing things, or has some other reason to complain and be a general pain in the butt.  There are those in this world that are this way regardless of what organization they’re part of.

I guess what I’m saying here is that as long as your following the rules and doing your best – don’t let these people get to you!  My favorite complaint form is the BSA adult application – seems to keep complaints to a minimum (unless, of course, that person is a registered leader).  Just remember you’re not alone, and you can always vent and lean on the others who are here.  Hit me up anytime, folks – I’m a good listener and am willing to offer any advice I can.

Keep your chin up!  Your doing a great job and helping boys become young men.

About Mayor Kyle P. Riel

Dad, Husband, Firefighter, Mayor, Blogger, Drummer, yadda, yadda, yadda. View all posts by Mayor Kyle P. Riel

3 responses to “Day 49 – there is no pleasing some people

  • Scoutmaster Shawn

    proof positive, right here, brother…stay the course, we are doing it for the right reasons.

  • Jason "Chief" Stansfield

    MNScoutmaster,

    A fellow Scouter here, Assistant District Commissioner, runing Roundtable, a Troop Committee Chair, and District Trainer.

    Yes, there are some people you cannot please, I agree.

    I get them to step up as leaders.

    If they’re not a part of the solution they are a part of the problem.

    Parent Talent Surveys!

    Jason “Chief” Stansfield

  • Scoutsigns

    Well said! I’ve been fortunate so far to not have a REALLY unpleasant parent (but definitely some in the “indigestion” range). 😉

Leave a Reply

