Day 41 – training & hoping


This weekend I’ve been thinking of how our Troop needs to be much more boy-led.  With our Troop elections on Monday, I’m hoping that this will be the start of good things.  I’m hoping that no matter who is elected – with the proper training and guidance – that they’ll be able to lead our Troop in a way I don’t think anyone here has ever seen.

Since this Troop started out with 6 very green 11 years old 6 years ago – I felt the need to help them more than if I had joined an existing Boy Scout Troop that already had leadership in place.  Trouble is, I don’t think that I’ve ever really given it all up.  I realized this at our last PLC, when it seemed that our SPL just really didn’t understand that it was his meeting to lead.  Is that his fault?  Nope.  That’s mine.  It’s one of many things I’m hoping to fix in the coming weeks and months.

First this is to hold Troop elections.  We’re WAY past the 6 month term – and no one noticed.  Again, my bad.  Elections are tomorrow.

Secondly, Troop Leadership Training (TLT).  Haven’t held one of these in years.  It’s scheduled for early next month, and I will have my stuff together by then.  I will also have the SPL and ASPL trained prior so they can help in the rest of the training.  Once they complete TLT for their current position, they can wear the ‘trained’ patch, correct?  I’m also thinking of having quick ‘mini-PLC’ meetings after each meeting so we can go over what worked and what didn’t, and offer suggestions as to how to correct any issues for next time.

I realize that this isn’t going to all magically happen overnight.  There’s going to be some meetings and plans that won’t work.  There will be some moments where it will seem like none of the training is working.  But I know it’s just a rough spot, and if I can help the boys use it as a learning tool, it will only help them grow as leaders.

With these two things taking place in the next few weeks I’m hoping that we’ll be taking some huge steps towards an actual boy-led Troop.  I think if I set the tone and lay it out for them from the get-go, it should help.  If you have any other suggestions how to, in essence, turn this thing around – I’m very open to suggestions!

About Mayor Kyle P. Riel

Dad, Husband, Firefighter, Mayor, Blogger, Drummer, yadda, yadda, yadda. View all posts by Mayor Kyle P. Riel

2 responses to “Day 41 – training & hoping

  • Dave Sauer

    You’re on the right track! The meeting after the meeting is a great idea – very important. The “Reflection”! You’ve been to WB so you know that giving and receiving feedback is a gift – now they need to understand that it’s NOT criticism.

    • MNScoutmaster

      Thanks Dave! I know it’ll take some time, but I think this is the way we need to go. Sure do appreciate the comments and encouragement!

Leave a Reply

