FOS – (I won’t ask you for money, I swear)


FOS LogoStop!  First off, I swear I won’t ask you for any money in this post!  Honest.  So it’s safe to keep reading.

That seems to be how the majority of Scouting parents feel when I step up for the 5 minute spiel I give at the Blue and Gold banquets.  Like ‘oh boy, here c0mes that guy representing the Council asking for money’.  Well yea, I am representing the Council when I’m doing my FOS speech, but that seems to cause most folks to think I don’t know or understand how it really is in Scouting.  Well, I beg to differ.  I’m a Scoutmaster in a rural area – I get it.

Scouting Magazine had a good ‘Front Line Stuff’ about this  – here’s the article:  http://www.scoutingmagazine.org/issues/0001/d-flin.html.  I don’t know how well these ideas would work in my neck of the woods, though.  My Council wants me to keep it short and sweet.  Which, I understand – but at the same time, how can I get my point across to these people that this FOS stuff is actually very important if they don’t want to see the Council costs passed on to us time and time again?  Maybe that’s it.  Maybe I just answered my own question!

I have to give my second FOS presentation tomorrow night.  I think I might just try that approach.  I’m also going to try and challenge each family to give something  – no matter the size.  I need to make sure it doesn’t sound like I’m begging, though.  If you have any good ideas on how to successfully approach parents on FOS, I’d sure appreciate it.  I’ll update the results in one of my 100 Day of Scouting posts.

About Mayor Kyle P. Riel

Dad, Husband, Firefighter, Mayor, Blogger, Drummer, yadda, yadda, yadda. View all posts by Mayor Kyle P. Riel

Leave a Reply

