100 Days of Scouting – Day 7


Day 7:

  • Took part in a Troop Committee meeting (more on that below)
  • Helped conduct our monthly PLC meeting.
  • Contacted the local Council to confirm the date and cost for the rental of Camp Newman for our Arctic Blast weekend.
  • Contacted our Committee Chair about providing transportation to those who need a ride to Arctic Blast.
  • Completed the online tour permit application and submitted it for approval.

Mondays are one of my busiest Scouting days, as we either have a Troop meeting or a monthly PLC meeting.  Tonight we had a PLC, but before that we had a Troop Committee Meeting that was really good.

Reader’s Digest version of the story is that there was a whole lot of rumors going around our small community about my wife and I not being very Scout-like with the Troop’s finances.  It’s all been hammered out now and we’re both still here – but the damage had already been done.  I became very apathetic towards the entire Troop for a while – not wanting to give much effort into it due to the fact that it seemed no one trusted us.  Why should I keep giving all my time and effort to their kids when they continually throw me under the bus? Needless to say, it hurt the whole program and many boys left due to the meetings being boring and unorganized.

So tonight our Committee Chair held a Troop Committee meeting for the first time in months.  It was sorely needed, and we hammered out all the necessary things.  We’ll have an Advancement Chair and Safety and Medical Coordinator for the first time ever!  Being a small unit, I’ve assumed both of those roles in the past, so I think it will take a little adjustment on my part to let go of some of this responsibility – but I’m up for the challenge!

Finally, at the PLC I discussed Troop elections.  We’ve done yearly elections the last 2 years, and I’m leaning towards elections every 6 months now instead.  What do your units do for elections?  Pros / Cons of doing it that way?  I’d appreciate your input on this one, as I’m interested to see if one way is more common than another.

Until tomorrow, where I’ll have more Cub Scout stuff to report on. . .

About Mayor Kyle P. Riel

Dad, Husband, Firefighter, Mayor, Blogger, Drummer, yadda, yadda, yadda. View all posts by Mayor Kyle P. Riel

Leave a Reply

