Summer Camp


Look what a week together does to us....

Summer camp.  I missed last year (new job), so preparing for this year I was even more of a Nervous Nelly than usual (just ask my wife!).  And as always, all my worrying and fretting instantly disappear when the rubber meets the road and we’re off and running.  I just want everyone to have a great time all week, and I worry before-hand to ensure it all goes well while we’re there.

This year was a very special year for me.  This year was the first year that my son came with.  I’ve been to camp for 4 years, and he was still in Cub Scouts all that time.  So this is my very first time that I had to be Scoutmaster AND Dad….and according to my son, I did just fine.

This was our first year at Tomahawk Scout Reservation.  We decided as a Troop years ago that we’d switch it up from time to time (2 or 3 years) so the older boys didn’t get bored, and since we have so many camps in our area, we wanted to experience them all, if possible.  The boys chose to go to Sioux Camp, where food is delivered right to your campsite, and you eat in camp.  I’m very happy with that choice for two reasons.  One, it gives us a little ‘Troop time’ every meal, so we can discuss the day’s activities, address any issues or concerns and so on.  Secondly, if there wasn’t enough food (and it did happen) – we had our Troop trailer with us, and we could make other food to complete the meal.

11 boys earned 22 merit badges over the week.  Several more have just one or two requirements left to finish them up.  All in all, the staff at TSR Sioux Camp were awesome.  We weren’t really tickled with the campsite given to us, but we feel we’ve upgraded for next year.  Our Troop also won the sailing regatta and the ‘fear factor’ challenge (eating nasty things).  This was many boy’s first go at summer camp, and I have to say that I’m very proud of them all for their work and attitude throughout the week.

A few of my gifts

Just a few things that were given...

One thing to note, is that they do treat the adult leaders there very well.  I felt respected and listened to all week, not to mention some of the cool things they wound up giving me!  Several patches, a very nice belt buckle (for having over 75% of the troop attending) and a Scoutmaster coffee mug were given to me throughout the week.

Finally, I would like to thank the other leaders that took a week and spent it with me the the boys.  I always have a blast at summer camp, and this year was no exception.  I hope to be doing this for many more years!

YIS

About MNScoutmaster

Dad, Husband and Scouter. Scoutmaster, Boy Scout Roundtable Commissioner and Cub Scout Dad. View all posts by MNScoutmaster

2 responses to “Summer Camp

  • Blaise Vitale

    After reading your blog for a while, it was nice meeting you in person at Tomahawk! Our boys had a great time that week as well.

    • MNScoutmaster

      Blaise, it was a pleasure to meet you as well! I hope your Troop continues to grow and succeed! I only wish I had more time that week to talk with you, but they don’t seem to give you much for free time there – especially when there were only 3 adults in camp for us. Maybe next year? We’ll be back there again for week 6.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

